ABOUT SUBMIT SUBSCRIBE CONTACT

2005 Online Journalism Awards finalists

Here are the finalists for the 2005 Online Journalism Awards.

Specialty (Small site)

• "Heritage and Culture," Scotsman.com, http://heritage.scotsman.com/
• Nature.com, http://www.nature.com/news
• Fashion Week, New York Newsday, http://www.nynewsday.com/entertainment/custom/fashion/fashionshows/
• Paid Content: The Economics of Content, http://www.paidcontent.org
• "Speaking of Faith," American Public Media, http://speakingoffaith.org

Service Journalism (Small)

• "Unsafe Haven, The Crisis in Home Health Care," Winston-Salem Journal, http://www.journalnow.com/servlet/Satellite?pagename=WSJ/Page/WSJ_ContentPage&c=Page&cid=1031780628526
• "Living Through Windows Alzheimers Disease," Grand Island Independent, http://livingthroughwindows.com

Best student website

• No finalists

Online Commentary (Small)

• "Good Morning Silicon Valley," John Paczkowski, http://blogs.siliconvalley.com/gmsv/
• "The Energy Overseer," Arthur ODonnell, http://www.energypulse.net/centers/author.cfm?at_id=495
• "Purely Academic," Terry Caesar, http://www.insidehighered.com/views/purely_academic
• "Artoon," Bill Marx, http://www.wbur.org/arts/archive/op%2Deds/

Enterprise (Small)

• "Beyond Borders," San Bernardino Sun and Inland Valley Daily Bulletin, http://lang.sbsun.com/socal/beyondborders/
• "Sex, Money and Meth Addiction," New West, http://www.newwest.net/index.php/main/article/546/
• "Outsourcing the Pentagon," Center for Public Integrity, http://www.publicintegrity.org/pns/
• "The Attack at the Silk Forest Plant," Winston Salem Journal, http://silkplantforest.journalnow.com/

Breaking News (Small)

• "BTK Strangler," Kansas.com, http://www.kansas.com/mld/kansas/news/special_packages/btk/
• "Microsoft to Gut Longhorn," Microsoft Watch, http://microsoft-watch.com/article2/0,2180,1640183,00.asp
• "Local Floods," Middletown NY Times Herald-Record, http://www.recordonline.com/news/special_reports/2005flood/
• "McGowan Family Tragedy," The Palm Springs Desert Sun, http://www.thedesertsun.com/mcgowan

Outstanding Use of Multiple Media (Small)

• "Mission to Mante," Boulder Daily Camera, http://mante.dailycamera.com/
• "Hip-Hop at 30," New York Newsday, http://www.nynewsday.com/impulse/music/hiphop/
• "State of the Hudson, Poughkeepsie Journal, http://www.poughkeepsiejournal.com/hudson/
• "My House, My Shack," SixBillion.org, http://www.sixbillion.org/content.php?issue=3ion=6

General Excellence in Online Journalism (Small)

• Bluffton Today, http://www.blufftontoday.com
• Congressional Quarterly, http://www.cq.com
• Online Athens, http://www.onlineathens.com
• New West, http://www.newwest.net
• Center for Public Integrity, http://www.publicintegrity.org

Online Commentary (Medium)

• Chas Rich, "NEO Babble Blog," http://www.cleveland.com/weblogs/neobabble
• Al Mascitti, The Delaware News Journal, http://www.delawareonline.com/blogs/archive/2004_07_01_first_state.html
• Greg Mitchell, Editor & Publisher, http://www.editorandpublisher.com/eandp/columns/pressingissues_archive.jsp
• Joel Mathis "Lawrence.com blogs," http://www.lawrence.com/blogs/mathis/
• Mark Fiore's Animated Political Cartoons, http://www.markfiore.com

General Excellence in Online Journalism (Medium)

• CBS-2 Chicago, http://www.cbs2chicago.com
• New York Newsday, http://www.nynewsday.com
• Frontline/World, http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/
• Spokesman Review, http://www.spokesmanreview.com/

Student Journalism

• "Hartman Murder Files," University of Alaska Fairbanks, http://www.uaf.edu/extreme
• "Crossing Borders," Arizona State University, http://cronkitezine.asu.edu/Mexico
• "Global Messengers," University of North Carolina, http://www.ibiblio.org/solympics

Breaking News (Large)

• "Asias Deadly Waves," New York Times, http://www.nytimes.com/indexes/2004/12/27/world/worldspecial4/
• "Laguna Landslide," Orange County Register, http://www.ocregister.com/ocr/2005/06/01/sections/lagunaslide/
• "Hurricanes of 2004," Orlando Sentinel, http://www.orlandosentinel.com/storms
• "Storm 2004 Hurricane Coverage," Palm Beach Post, http://www.palmbeachpost.com/storm/content/weather/special/storm/2004/atlantic/2004coverage.html
• "Tsunami Coverage," Washington Post, http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A29794-2004Dec27.html

Specialty Journalism (Large)

• The Chronicle of Higher Education, http://chronicle.com
• Computer World, http://www.computerworld.com
• ESPN Insider, http://insider.espn.go.com/insider/index
• "OC Varsity," Orange County Register, http://ocvarsity.com

Service journalism (Large)

• "Borrower Beware," Atlanta Journal-Constitution, http://www.ajc.com/business/content/business/borrowerbeware.html
• "Get Schooled education blog," Atlanta Journal-Constitution, http://www.ajc.com/metro/content/custom/blogs/education/index.html
• "My Favorite Teacher, Philadelphia Inquirer, http://go.philly.com/favteacher
• "Your Right to Know," Journal News, http://www.thejournalnews.com/newsroom/foil/

Online Commentary (Large)

• "Shooting from the Heart" by David Kuo, Beliefnet, http://www.beliefnet.com/story/160/story_16092_1.html
• "Human Nature" by William Salatan, Slate Magazine, http://www.slate.com/?id=3944&qp=41742&dto=06/30/05&dfrom=07/01/04
• "Ad Report Card" by Seth Stevenson, Slate Magazine, http://www.slate.com/?id=3944&qp=26609&dto=06/30/05&dfrom=07/01/04
• "Kausfiles" by Mickey Kaus, Slate Magazine, http://www.slate.com/?id=3944&qp=26088;26457&dto=06/30/05&dfrom=07/01/04
• "Page 2," ESPN, http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/page2/index
• "Media Hack" by Adam Penenberg, Wired.com, http://www.wired.com/news/storylist/0,2339,1295,00.html

Enterprise Journalism (Large)

• "In Harms Way," Houston Chronicle, http://www.chron.com/toxic
• "Murder in Room 103," Court TV, http://www.courttv.com/room_103/
• "Echo Company," Knight Ridder, http://www.realcities.com/mld/krwashington/news/special_packages/echo_company/
• "Dot-con Job," Seattle Times, http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/news/business/infospace/
• "What is Torture?" Slate Magazine, http://www.slate.com/id/2119122

Outstanding Use of Multiple Media (Large)

• "Class Matters," New York Times, http://www.nytimes.com/class
• "C.R.O.P Up Close: Donovan State Prison," San Diego Union Tribune, http://crop.signonsandiego.com
• "A Husband for Vibha," St. Petersburg Times, http://www.sptimes.com/2004/webspecials04/indianwoman/
• "25 years in Hip Hop," Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel, http://www.sun-sentinel.com/broadband/theedge/sfl-edge-n-hiphop,0,3806040.flash
• "AIDS in Africa: A Turning Point," Toronto Globe and Mail, http://www.theglobeandmail.com/special/aidsinafrica

General Excellence in Online Journalism (Large)

• BBC News, http://www.bbcnews.com
• CNN, http://www.cnn.com
• ESPN, http://www.espn.com
• The New York Times, http://www.nytimes.com
• Nova Online, http://www.pbs.org/nova

Sep 26, 2005 | E-MAIL | SAVE | PRINT | PERMALINK | DISCUSS(0)



Discussion

0 comments about '2005 Online Journalism Awards finalists'



Post a comment






    Enter code to post:








Site Map







newsblogs.gif